Applying for a motorcycle license in Utah is a tedious and rigorous process. It is important to know the requirements and what will be expected of you during your application.
For more information on getting your DMV motorcycle license, including the requirements and process for applying for one, we’ve put together a small guide to help you out with everything you need to know.
In order to get your first motorcycle license in Utah, you’ll need to pass a vision screening test and take a knowledge exam.
The vision screening will include a test for red-green colorblindness, and you’ll need to undergo a physical and eye test, administered by the DMV before you are allowed to take the knowledge exam.
You will be given a booklet containing questions based on Utah traffic laws. You must pass the test with a score of at least 80 percent.
After the screening tests, you will be given a temporary license. However, you will be limited to the following conditions:
- No passengers
- You cannot operate a motorcycle vehicle between the hours of 10 PM and 6 AM
- You cannot operate a motorcycle vehicle on any highway that has a posted speed limit of 60 miles an hour or more
Road Skills Test
Next, you will need to pass a road skills test.
This test will be administered on a motorcycle provided by the DMV. You will be tested on your knowledge of safe driving, signaling, turning, shifting, braking, and emergency procedures.
You will also be evaluated on your overall awareness of your surroundings. If you pass the test, you can move on to the next step in the process.
Motorcycle Safety Course
If you have never had a motorcycle license before, you will need to attend a motorcycle safety course in order to get your license.
You have the option to either take a course in person or online. Once you have completed the course, you will be mailed a completion certificate that you can take to the DMV with you.
If you choose to take the course online, you will need to print out the certificate, have it notarized, and mail it to the DMV.
If you are under 19 years old, you will be subject to restrictions based on your age and experience.
If you have taken the course, you will be required to take a driving test on the bike you intend to use. If you have not taken the course, you will be required to take a driving test on a bike of your choice.
You can follow the lengthy process outlined above or you can save time by taking the Motorcycle Safety Course online from the DMV.
You can enroll online at dmv.utah.gov. Once you have enrolled, you can proceed to the course immediately. Additionally, you can qualify for your motorcycle license by taking the course and not taking the road skills test.
If you need further information about the course, you can call the DMV to receive the information you need.
Getting your motorcycle license in Utah can seem like a daunting task. However, if you know what your requirements are and how to proceed, the process will be much simpler.
For more information about beginner motorcycle riding, visit the Beginner Riders website. We have a wealth of resources that will help you get started with motorcycle riding.