A Brief Guide on Obtaining a Motorcycle License in Nevada
It’s no surprise that motorcycling is returning to the forefront of pop culture. Long, relaxing rides over the weekend, picturesque sceneries, and great company are all enough to make anyone go out and get a motorcycle. But before anything else, you need to get a license. Indeed, licenses are required to prove that you can actually ride your motorcycle. To help you out, here’s a brief guide on obtaining a motorcycle license in Nevada.
Taking a Test
The most straightforward way would have to be to take the knowledge and skills test. Take note that this only applies to individuals with driver’s licenses already. These tests are held at your local DMV and will have a $25 fee.
For the knowledge portion of the test, the coverage generally covers the contents of Nevada’s Motorcycle Operator’s Manual. Of course, any additional non-contradictory information should help.
Once you pass the first test, you can then set an appointment for your skills test by phone or online. This part will also include a road test where the individual will be tested on their skill with handling the vehicle.
Once passed, the only thing left to do is to bring proof that you passed the tests to your local DMV. They’ll take your picture and ask for a $21.25 fee, your license to be sent to your home within the next 10 days.
Transferring an Out-of-State license
Some people might have already had a motorcycle license but were given a permit in another state. That’s fine and easily solved. All you’ll need is a copy of your license, an original copy of your birth certificate, or a Social Security card to your local DMV. You’ll also have to pay a $27 fee if you’re under the age of 65, $22 if you’re older than 65.
Undergoing an Accredited Course
Others might prefer getting their permit by instead taking a course accredited by the Nevada Office of Traffic Safety. Luckily, there are lots of places to go to with venues in Las Vegas, Carson City, and Reno.
If you choose to take one of these courses, all you’ll have to do after is to bring a document certifying you’ve completed the course as well as your current driving license. Take note that underaged applicants will still need to be accompanied by a parent or guardian. A $21.25 fee will also be paid during your application at the DMV. You can learn more about these approved courses on the Nevada DMV website.
Through an Instruction Permit
For younger readers, getting your license through the old-fashioned way might be the best. Underaged individuals will need to apply for these permits if they’ll be starting their motorcycle education early. Overaged people will not be required to obtain this permit.
Permit holders will be allowed to drive a motorcycle on the condition that they are practicing under supervision by an individual with a current motorcycle license.
Once you’ve completed your training, all you’ll need to do is to do a skill test. The instruction permit will also have a fee of $21.25
We hope this article proves to be useful when it comes to helping you obtain a motorcycle license in Nevada. While it may seem a little tedious, knowing what to do will make things infinitely easier and more convenient. Be sure to keep everything we discussed in mind so you can streamline this process.
If you’re looking for more helpful guides on the best beginner motorcycles or the different types of motorcycle helmets, then we’ve got you covered. Beginner Riders is your one-stop-shop for all the information that you’ll ever need regarding motorcycles. Feel free to check out more of our blog today!