If you want to ride a motorcycle in Minnesota, you have to make sure you do it the right way. Don’t operate it without a proper driver’s license, or you might have to pay hefty fines or even face jail time.
In this article, you can learn all about the steps you must take to obtain a motorcycle license in Minnesota, so you can get a beginner bike and start riding.
Step 1: Apply for a Permit
The first step is to apply for a motorcycle permit. You can do this as long as you are 16 years old. Regardless of your age and experience, obtaining a permit is required.
You are eligible to get a permit if you meet the following qualifications:
- You must be a US citizen or permanent resident
- You must be a resident of Minnesota
- You must hold a Minnesota driver’s license
If you meet those qualifications, you should also prepare the following documents:
- Primary identification document — Certificate of citizenship, passport, birth certificate, or permanent resident card
- Secondary identification document — Any state-issued ID card, employee photo ID card, Social Security ID card, or a marriage certificate
- Lawful admission for temporary US residence
- Certificate of completing a Basic Rider Course if you’re under 18
Once all the requirements are ready, it’s time to go in for a driver’s exam. You will take a written test and a vision screening test. After passing both of them, you will be able to get your permit.
Step 2: If You’re under 18, Complete a Basic Rider Course
If you are an applicant under the age of 18, there is an extra step for you. You must complete the Basic Rider Course and take the riding skills test before you can push through with your application.
What you must do is register with your preferred location, complete the Minnesota Motorcycle Safety Course Waiver & Indemnification, and pay a $245 fee. During the course, they will give you a motorcycle to practice on, but you need to bring your own protective gear to be safe while you practice.
This course will be a mix of practical and classroom education, and the main things you will learn are clutch control, counter-steering, stopping, and managing risks on the road. Once you pass the course, you’ll get a certificate of completion that you can use to apply for your license.
Step 3: Pay For the Fees
After submitting your application, it’s time to settle the fees. As of 2021, you have to pay $21 for the motorcycle permit fee and $2.50 for the motorcycle endorsement examination fee.
Moreover, if you fail the skills and knowledge tests, you have to pay $10 for a knowledge test and $20 for the skills test if you have to retake it.
After completing the requirements, applying, and paying for the fees, you will receive an M endorsement. The M endorsement is the Minnesotan equivalent of a motorcycle license, you just add it to your current driver’s license, and you are good to go.
Getting a motorcycle license in Minnesota is relatively easy. All you have to do is follow these outlined steps, study for the exam, and get your permit and endorsement.
If you are a newbie in the world of motorcycles, you can spend time exploring Beginner Riders. Our main goal is to help people learn more about motorcycle riding and be their ultimate source of everything they need to know. To start, check out our list of the best beginner motorcycles!