What’s the Process of Getting an Idaho Motorcycle License?
To apply for a motorcycle license or endorsement in Idaho, you must first have a valid Idaho driver’s license plus do the following:
- Visit the Idaho Department of Motor Vehicles.
- Fill out an application.
- Provide documentation of your identity, residence, and legal presence.
- Pass an eyesight test.
- Pay the application and testing costs
- Pass the written knowledge test for motorcycles.
After completing the above stages, you will be issued a motorcycle learner’s permit. You can use your permit to practice your riding abilities and enroll in a motorcycle safety training program.
If you are under the age of 21, you must undergo the motorcycle instruction course.
How long is the motorcycle safety course?
Approximately 15 hours
The Basic RiderCourse is approximately 15 hours (Harley-Davidson courses are 20 hours because of additional classroom and range riding time) and usually lasts throughout the weekend.
How much is a motorcycle license class?
Riders can also take a weekend-long motorcycle instruction course, including the written test and road test. This is the quickest option for most people, but the courses aren’t cheap. The price ranges from $200 – $300, and they’re usually mandatory for riders under 18.
How much does an Idaho motorcycle license cost?
Obtaining an Idaho motorcycle license is relatively inexpensive. The requisite fees are
a $15 one-time endorsement charge that adds the “M” to the driver’s license; a $15 motorcycle permit price that is valid for 180 days;
A $3 cost is charged for the written knowledge exam, and a $10 fee is charged for the driving skills exam.
Does Idaho require a motorcycle endorsement?
All motorcycle riders must have an endorsement on their driver’s license. The endorsement is “M” for motorcycles. Once you have a valid Idaho motorcycle endorsement, you’re ready to go hit the open road.
How much does a motorcycle permit cost in Idaho?
The permit is $15 and is good for 180 days. This permits you to ride a motorcycle under specified conditions.
What’s the Penalty for Riding Without a License in Idaho?
A first-time conviction for driving without a valid license in Idaho is considered an infraction, punishable by a fine of up to $150. The maximum penalty for a second violation is increased to $300. A third violation within five years is considered a misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in prison and a $1,000 fine.
What’s the Process of Transferring Your Out-of-State Motorcycle License When Relocating to Idaho
You can transfer your out-of-state motorcycle license or endorsement to Idaho if you’ve recently relocated. To do this, you must:
- Pay a visit to your nearest DMV office.
- Return your out-of-state driver’s license.
- Completing the application and providing proof of identification, residence, and legal presence are required.
- Pay the necessary application fees.
- Pass an eye examination.
- Pass the written Idaho motorcycle test.
If your out-of-state motorcycle license/endorsement is still valid, you won’t need to take another motorcycle safety course or pass a road test.
Despite its mountainous terrain, Idaho is ripe with beautiful roads and scenery, and its residents are passionate about riding. If you’re interested in joining this community, you’ll need to follow the outlined steps. But don’t worry, if you have any questions, the Idaho DMV is a great resource. Just give them a call at +1 208-529-1374.
For more information like this, such as the best motorbikes for beginners, feel free to browse through our comprehensive motorcycle information resources on Beginner Rider today!